life

Yaad reh jane walay alfaaz.

I was about to brag about the incident mentioned below on twitter (since it has been my rant shelter 24/7) but just for a change, I felt like giving it a concrete locus on my webspace. So here’s what just happened;

11:30pm, just about twenty minutes ago, the doorball rang. My father and I were together in the living room, with him glued to the TV screen and myself to the laptop, I reached out to the entrance just to find it was the lady who lives a floor below ours. She had made Haleem and had come with a papa-bear-full pot (if that’s a word?) for me- talk about almost midnight surprises!

She’s quite a generous Memon lady (mentioning her community to break a stereotype against memons of being miser) and loves me a little too much. Whenever she hears my steps banging against the staircase of our apartments early in the morning as I leave for a walk or to the university, or when I am sluggishly climbing my way up from a long day’s work, she always gets to the main door of her house and never forgets to give me her blessings. I’ve rarely come across ladies as sweet as her. And guess what made me write this entire post out of the blue?

The lady left on the following note as dad and I walked to the door,

“Logon kay tou betay bhi aisay nahi hotay jesi Abbas bhai, apki betiyaan hain..”

(And yes, she was pointing at me.)

I HAVE LIVED.
*wipes her tears of joy as she ends this post*

4 thoughts on “Yaad reh jane walay alfaaz.

  1. بلکل سہی کہا اُنہوں نے ۔ ۔ ۔ ۱۶ آنے سچی بات ہے ۔ ۔ ۔ فخر ہے کہ تمھاری جیسی بہن پر ۔ ۔ ۔ سچی مُچی
    🙂

Leave a Reply

