life

~A pledge~

No I’m not depressed.

Was just flipping the pages of my diary and i found this piece of poetry i wrote a year back, on 17th June ’09.Β  I remember I had a quarrel with some friend of mine, and was all her fault. As always, i was the miss everything-happened-coz-of-me-and-i-am-begging-on-my-knees-for-forgiveness! Lol, but as soon as things got sorted out, I promised myself to adapt an I-don’t-care attitude. Coz be practical, the ones who moan over everything, care for every other person, are the ones who are left behind in the race of life. And the ones who just dont give a damn and are busy in their own lives, reach their targets very soon.

BUT

They aren’t content in the end. And I no more consider life a ‘race’. It’s just about how you spend the journey along, stepping forward leaving your peers behind, OR walking with them and savoring each moment. I chose the latter. What I learnt that day and I recall today is, that whining over stuff that doesn’t need it, is something useless. It’ll get you no where. Being persistent and a step at a time strategy will get you where you want to be.Β  Crying is okay, SOMETIMES. It lightens your heart and lets you make decisions. But teary eyes ALL the time will just make the view of your life blurry.

So, well, here’s the rainbow of thoughts i found after i cleared my blurry vision..

With tears flowing from my eyes,
and my body, as cold as ice,

With full consciousness, i promise I make,
Not a single sorrow, on my heart I’ll take.

‘Coz my past experiences made me learn,
marketing your sorrows, will nothing let you earn.

All you’ll get is a bunch of false sympathies.
Happiness wont unlock- Go try a million keys!

All y’need to do, is just wear a nice smile,
forget all your worries, and relax for a while!

The world is so bright, so why paint it black?
For sadness and madness, be a hard nut to crack!

Try to be calm, and always be strong.
And never let yourself, go on the path of wrong.

One last advice, just give it a try,
spend a peaceful day, and please don’t cry!

Be a bit patient, face the challenges in life.
and NEVER let your words, turn into a sharp knife.

In this way my friend, one day you’ll stand,
with contentment and success, both in your hands!

=)

63 thoughts on “~A pledge~

  1. Wonderful. It is so important to keep things in perspective and understand that each is only a moment in time.

  2. The message in the poem was outstanding…but what really caught me was the note you put before the poem. the part where you said “stepping forward leaving your peers behind, OR walking with them and savoring each moment” really touched me and for you to choose the later, made me respect you as a person.

    1. glad your thoughts collided with mine! (:

      checked it out Meghana! and as always, you came up with some amazing stuff! I was really moved by the choice of the subject! They rarely highlight the life of such people these days..

  3. Our skills take time,
    Sometimes its a crime
    To never earn a dime.
    For our clever made rhyme.

    Its as you see
    You rhyme like me
    Rhyming is the way to be
    Its the only way you’re free

    Thank you for your comment
    And understanding what I meant
    Marking on the words I sent
    Shows the person you represent

    So I invite you back
    To check out my knack
    Maybe give reading another whack
    Until then dont let yourself slack.

    Shoeless.

    1. Im glad to have u here on my page
      these words area poet’s real n true wage

      You rhyme so well, it makes me impressed
      a few of your rhymes r a pill wen im depressed..

      No doubt my dear fellow, rhyming is our passion
      it makes us escape from this world of aggression

      I hope our rhymes get better each time
      I’ll learn a lot of from yours, and you will, from mine.

      checked out more of your rhymes, you convey the message really well through them.. (:
      oh btw, i’m getting some sort of error while commenting on the abandoned judgment, if you could please check what’s wrong..

  4. A very uplifting and positive poem!!! Loved it!
    “marketing your sorrows, will nothing let you earn” – this line was mindblowing!!!

    Have a calm and lovely July, Shagufta..

  5. .. a beautiful way of saying I-shall-not-care anymore… that is just so sweet… and like others, I must applaud the optimism u exude thru your words… fascinating!!!

  6. All y’need to do, is just wear a nice smile,
    forget all your worries, and relax for a while!

    The world is so bright, so why paint it black?
    For sadness and madness, be a hard nut to crack!

    my fav lines here…wonderful:)

Leave a Reply

